Lord Mayor Selection Committee

Friday 10 February 2023

PRESENT:

Councillor Bingley, in the Chair. Councillors Mrs Aspinall, Mrs Beer, Evans OBE, Murphy, Patel and Smith.

Apologies for absence: Councillor Shayer.

Also in attendance: Ross Jago (Head of Governance, Performance and Risk), Maddie Halifax (CEX/Electoral Services Practice Manager) and Hannah Whiting (Democratic Advisor).

The meeting started at 10.00 am and finished at 10.10 am.

Note: At a future meeting, the committee will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

6. To Note the Appointment of Chair

The Committee noted the appointment of The Leader, Councillor Richard Bingley, as the Chair of the Lord Mayors Selection Committee 2022/23.

7. **Declarations of Interest**

No declarations of interest were made by Councillors in accordance with the code of conduct.

8. **Minutes**

The Committee <u>agreed</u> the minutes of the meeting held on 11 February 2022 were confirmed as a correct record.

9. Lord Mayoralty 2023/24

The Committee sought nominations for the Lord Mayoralty 2023/24. Having been nominated by The Leader, Councillor Richard Bingley and seconded by Councillor Mrs Mary Aspinall, it was <u>agreed</u> unanimously to extend a cordial invitation to Councillor Jonathan Drean to accept the Office of Lord Mayor for the following municipal year.

Councillors waited upon Councillor Jonathan Drean who, on arrival, expressed his appreciation for the nomination, which he was delighted and grateful to accept.

The Committee <u>agreed</u> that it was unanimously recommended to City Council that it approved the appointment of Councillor Jonathan Drean as Lord Mayor for the 2023/24 municipal year.